3) Orchestral Concert


Friday 28 June, 8pm

Anthony Marwood, Richard Lester, Peter Facer and Sarah Burnett (soloists)
Britten Sinfonia

  • Haydn: Sinfonia Concertante in Bb major
  • Fauré: Élégie for cello and orchestra, O 24
  • Dvořák: Romance for violin and orchestra in F minor, Op. 11
  • Beethoven: Symphony No. 1 in C major, Op. 21

Venue: St Mary’s Church, Rye

SKU: pcmf-concert3 Category:


We are delighted to welcome back Britten Sinfonia for a concert which traces the journey of orchestral music from Haydn’s salon to the heights of the late nineteenth century. Haydn’s Sinfonia Concertante was composed and premiered in London in 1792 where it was hailed as “profound, airy, affecting, and original”. Fauré’s Élégie, originally written for solo cello and piano, and Dvořák’s Romance for violin and orchestra are both eloquent and gorgeous arias for these instruments. Coming full circle, the concert finishes with Beethoven’s first symphony, which strongly shows the influence of his teacher Haydn on the young composer.

Additional information


Price 1: £35, Price 2: £25, Price 3: £18